Time To Love Your Neighbor Again

In other words, International Day of Peace is coming your way this Friday, September 21, 2012 and doing something special for your community is a great way to honor this very special day. It’s a great time for all of us to extend new traditions of kindness with each passing year so that the circle of hope continues to spread to all communities and nations. We are honoring this day by sharing a few peace filled perspectives on the subject. And, who else can shed light on the subject of peace like the innocent, untainted opinion of a young child?

So, I asked my 3 oldest children the following question:

If a person doesn’t have peace in his heart, would he be able to help bring peace to the world?

My 8-year-old son’s answer:

Yes, because someone could convince him that peace is good, and he could start being more nice and someone can tell him how nice it is to be a nice person.

My 6-year-old daughter’s answer:

Yes, because someone can talk to him and maybe he would change his mind.

My 5-year-old daughter’s answer:

Yes, by being quiet!

Before asking this question to my children, my answer was a resounding, NO! I , however, was looking at it from the perspective of the present, here and now, and not really considering future possibilites of having the positive influences of another helping to change the heart of one with no peace. But, now that my children have caused me to think about it a bit more, I believe that their perspective was correct, and mine was wrong. After listening to their answers, I have changed my answer to one filled with more hope and optimism. I have changed it to a MAYBE!!

I changed it because each of our days, after all, are built on the hope of good things to come, and if we can’t be hopeful of one another and our future together than there’s not much left to be hopeful about! My 5-year-old’s answer of being quiet, as simplistic as it was, she was very much on the money also. The older two and I had a good laugh about her response only because she was clearly speaking from experience since she is the loudest person in our household and is often asked to quiet down. If our politicians would take a cue from a 5-year-old and pause before letting foolish words fall from their lips, it could save them a great deal in damage control. Thanks kids for another great lesson in love, hope and human kindness!!! As usual, our kids are always teaching us something!

Cece

One thought on “Time To Love Your Neighbor Again

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑