Potty Time and The Dirty Diaper Duel!!

Here’s a replay of the last scenario between my 2-year-old little boy who’s almost 3 and myself regarding going on the potty:

I think I’m ready now!

Mommy: It’s time to sit on the potty.

2-year-old: No, don’t want to go potty.

Mommy: But, it looks like you need to go potty so lets sit down on your potty chair.

2-year-old: Mom, you’re being mean to me. Don’t have to go.

Mommy: Okay, fine.  Please tell me when you have to go.

A minute goes by

2-year-old: Mom change me. I pooped.

Mommy: Sigh

If this is the familiar diaper duel going on in your house as well take comfort in knowing that you are not alone.  This is my last child in diapers so to say I’m a little anxious to get this diaper duel done and finished is an understatement!

When it came to training my girls I had little difficulty, and in most cases I would win the duel fairly easily.  However, with both of my sons it was a long drawn out battle to the end. I’ve tried videos and books, get trained quick methods, buying the cute little underpants with their favorite characters, but in the end, what it all comes down to is a battle of the will.  My 2-year-old knows exactly what he needs to do and when, but will he? No, not until he’s ready. Don’t get me wrong, he does pee on the potty, but not regularly enough to always keep his pants dry.

I can try a few tricks to possibly speed up the process, but they are energy draining and time consuming for us both. However, if you want to give them a try, please do and don’t forget to come back and share the results! The links are below.  The second link is especially for boys! When you have multiple children going in 20 directions, it’s a challenge to focus efforts on making one stubborn little 2-year-old realize that pooping in the potty is a wonderful thing!  So for today, I’m sad to say, the potty still sits lonely in its corner.  However, hope for a victory tomorrow is still not lost.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑